Elsewhere

The spirit isn’t willing, and the flesh would rather be elsewhere.

It has been difficult, the last few days. That dragon that insisted on following
me. A platoon of dead knights that simply wouldn’t take a sword through the gut as
a leave me alone gesture. And those eagles that honestly thought dive bombs and
ambushes were what my crumpled body needed.

The tower was clearly part of a castle at some point. But time and other elements
have worn the rest away. And at some point the tower will probably fall as well.
But for tonight it will make a decent abode. And inside will be safer than outside.

Door hinges that have long since abandoned any purpose in life. It simply tumbles to
the ground sending rats scurrying in every direction but door way bound. No quiet
entrance here.

A tight spiral of winding stairs, arcing ever upwards. I can see where the old
corridors would have split off in the old castle. Now, just splitting off into
oblivion.

Darkened corridor. So much so I pick up an old shield just to toss it into the
void. A giant man-trap spring shuts. One must be careful of such things.

Sword and shield drawn.

Sword and shield withdrawn. I can see a room at the end of the corridor. Not much
left for the sword and shield to do for now. Those goblins the last thing they’ll
get for a while. Hopefully. I’m tired.

Tipping open a time-worn door. All quiet here and gaps in the wall lets the starlight
flood on through. And there in the corner, piles of wood. That will do.

The warmth, the cackling of the wood. The little, beautiful glow that it gives off.
Just something wonderful about a bonfire. I’ll board the door at some point. But right
now, I’ll enjoy the fire for just a little while longer.

~~~

I want to play Dark Souls at one point. I’ve just got Salt and Sanctuary, and that’s fun.

What I listened to as I typed this up:

Podcasts are great. Even more so with Colt Cabana.

Leave a Reply

