Sycamore

What were those things called again…sycamore seeds? That sounds familiar.
They tumbled down from the trees as twin wings. You would gather as many as
possible and then snap them into two at the base. Then they would be flung
sky ward and they would catch the breeze and spin down, and downwards in
tight spirals just waiting to crash to earth.

The lasers have burnt the shield out, and the gatling cannons have chewed
up the hull and relived the opposition ship of an engine. The other engine
just keeps on going and sends the ship spinning down, and downwards in a tight
spiral.
Just like the sycamore seeds from those yonder days.

~~~

Something shorter today. Far easier to draft as well.

Music listened to as I wrote this:

Good stuff.

9 comments

  1. mist twine · October 20

    Oh my gosh, I love that song like crazy! I’m gonna post a dance for you in a minute. 🙂

  2. mist twine · October 20

    This is my favorite part of your poem:

    “and the gatling cannons have chewed
    up the hull and relived the opposition ship of an engine”

    And here, for you:

    http://mistwineyet.blogspot.com/2016/10/eliana-and-twitch-hey-mr-postman-sytycd.html

    You will love this. 🙂

  3. Brian · October 20

    The swirl of seed to ship.

  4. kanzensakura · October 21

    Excellent sad poem. Indeed it makes me continue to wonder what we are doing to our planet.

  5. kiwinana · October 21

    Strangle you saying about the sycamore, when I was a kid that’s many years ago we have a tree we used to have hours of fun, but I haven’t seen one for years.
    Thanks for the memories.

  6. Bodhirose · October 21

    Yes, a similarity between childhood amusement of seed and tragic spiraling of ship. What a contrast! I grew up listening to that song and watched the dance video from So You Think You Can Dance…so cool. I love that show and Twitch is one of my favorites!

  7. Victoria C. Slotto · October 21

    Oh my, such powerful contrast and comparison. Tough, raw write.

  8. The contrasts are splendid. I can almost see this as a film.

  9. lynn__ · October 22

    And we never saw it coming… Powerful piece!
    BTW, I think it should be “relieved”, not “relived”?

Leave a Reply

